If you want to delete your AncestryDNA results, then you can do it anytime by navigating to DNA setting page. Deletion of DNA results is a permanent process so make sure before you are doing this because it can’t be undone.
When you delete the DNA test results, you will lose your ability to check the ethnicity estimate, DNA matches and all Ancestry data for your result permanently. Also with this you will not appear as a DNA match to anyone and with whom you’ve shared your DNA data will no longer can access your AncestryDNA results.
Once you deleted the test result you don’t get any option to download your raw DNA result. If you want to keep the ethnicity result but don’t want to appear as DNA matches or to see others matches, then you may need to “Choose not to be listed as a match” rather than deleting your DNA results completely.
Deleting the DNA test result doesn’t affect your Ancestry membership. If after deleting the data once, you want to retrieve or need AncestryDNA results again in future. You may need to purchase it and take another Ancestry DNA test to get them.
How To Delete The AncestryDNA Data Results
- Press on (https://www.ancestry.com/dna/settings)
- Scroll down to bottom at the settings page and then Tap on Delete option available next to delete “DNA Test Results And Revoke Consent to Processing”.
- To delete the AncestryDNA results permanently, enter the password and press on “Delete Test Results and Revoke Consent”. If you click on the particular tab, you will not able to get the results back. If you want to access the results in future then you will require purchasing a new DNA test.
- Now AncestryDNA results are deleted permanently for your account.
AncestryDNA deletion process may results in permanent deletion of your DNA results. So take the decision carefully and then proceed if require. Also check other features that are available with this so you can make perfect decision for yourself.