Do you want to delete a family tree that you have created or someone has shared with you on Ancestry.com? Our guide will help you with best solutions available here to remove any tree permanently.
How To Delete Ancestry Family Tree Created By You
Whenever you remove a tree that you have uploaded or created at ancestry.com it will be deleted permanently. Before being attached to the tree if any media or facts are available on the ancestry site, or if your family tree was publicly available in the past, then facts/media were remain on the website. When the tree is deleted from the ancestry website, tree name will still shows in search results of ancestry.com till the family tree is indexed again. But if a person clicks on the tree shown in the results, they will get a message stating that the tree is removed.
- Through any page of your ancestry account, press “Trees” and choose a family tree.
- In your tree, tap on the “tree name” from the top-left corner and select “Tree Settings”.
- At the tree setting page on the right- bottom corner, tap on “Delete your tree”.
- Press “Delete”. Once the tree is removed, it can’t be retrieved again.
If you want to delete a tree that someone has shared with you on ancestry.com, then after removing it from your end the tree will not be deleted for them. Also, they didn’t get any notification about the tree removal.
- Go to the ancestry account, from any page press on “Trees” tab and choose the option as “Create & Manage Trees”.
- Click on “Trees shared with me” option available above the trees list.
- Now tap on “Remove from the list” link available in right side of tree.
- Press “Ok”.
If you feel our article useful while you were deleting your family tree from ancestry account. Please write us your queries and feedbacks about this post. It will give us a boost and help to provide you more relevant and useful information of ancestry trees only on our web portal.